National Indigenous Arts Awards

The 2019 National Indigenous Arts Awards

The Australia Council is now calling for nominations and Expression of interest for the 2019 Awards.

Closing on Tuesday 2 October 2018.

The 2019 National Indigenous Arts Awards celebrate the significant contribution of First Nations artists to the vibrancy of Australian arts, and celebrate the work and achievements of both established and emerging artists.

The 2018 recipients join an impressive alumni of First Nations artists and leaders, who have been recognised for excellence in their work.

Thomas E.S. Kelly – The Dreaming Award (for emerging artists aged 18-26 years)

Mrs Mavis Ngallametta and Mr John Mawurndjul AM – The Red Ochre Award (for lifetime achievement)

Hetti Perkins– The 2018 Australia Council Fellowship (for established artists, supporting creative activity and professional development for up to two years)

About the Awards

The Red Ochre Award

The prestigious Red Ochre Award was established by the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Arts Board in 1993 to pay tribute to a senior Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander person for their outstanding lifetime achievement in the arts and their contribution to the recognition of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander arts, both nationally and internationally.

The Red Ochre Award now includes recognition of both an outstanding senior male artist and an outstanding senior female artist. Nominations for senior artists are accepted from arts and community organisations and individuals. Senior artists may not nominate themselves and nominations may only be made for a living artists. Awards will not be given posthumously.

The Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Arts Strategy Panel will be selecting the male and female award recipients and will take into account the artists’ outstanding lifetime achievement and contribution to:

· Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander arts

· Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander community

· Artistic leadership

· Arts practice

Submit a nomination

The Dreaming Award

The Dreaming Award was established in 2012 to recognise an inspirational young artist aged 18-26 years and support the opportunity for them to create a major body of work through mentoring and partnerships, either nationally or internationally. 

The successful candidate is mentored in their chosen discipline (music, dance, theatre, literature, visual arts, new media, and cultural vibrancy) by another established professional artist or by an arts institution nominated by the artist. In addition, the Australia Council will promote the achievements of the recipient to inspire other young artists.

The Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Arts Strategy Panel will base their selection on the following considerations:

· A project idea/concept

· Artistic merit of the project

· Cultural integrity of the project

· Professional development benefits of the project for the individual and the art form involved

· Experience of the artists and/or arts workers involved, with skills appropriate to the project.

Submit an EOI

Exit off canvas
Real Time Web Analytics