Mike Nock recipient of Don Banks Music Award

21 January 2014

The Australia Council for the Arts is delighted to present the 2014 Don Banks Music Award to Mike Nock.

Mike NockThe annual Don Banks Music Award is Australia’s top music honour, recognising a senior individual’s outstanding contribution to music in Australia. With this in mind, we are delighted to present the 2014 Award to composer, pianist, performer and teacher Mike Nock.

As a leader in the jazz and wider music community Mike Nock’s work as a pianist, composer and band leader is recognised both in Australia and internationally. He has worked with some of the legends in the jazz community including Coleman Hawkins, Yusef Lateef, Dionne Warwick and Sam Rivers and toured extensively abroad with various groups, including the Mike Nock trio, Mike Nock Quartet, American group The Fourth Way and of course as a solo artist. He has also produced a substantial body of original compositions and a large catalogue of critically acclaimed recordings. As a classical composer he has been commissioned by world class orchestras, such as the Cleveland Chamber Orchestra, the Dundedin Civic Orchestra, the UMO Jazz Orchestra in Finland and the Australian Chamber Orchestra. Furthermore he is recognised for nurturing upcoming generations of jazz musicians through his teaching position at the Sydney Conservatorium of Music and his inclusion of younger musicians in his many projects.

Through a career spanning over fifty years, Mike has earned the respect and admiration of his peers, bringing his international experiences back to Australia, inspiring both young and established musicians. Australia Council Chief Executive Officer Tony Grybowski said that “as a respected and influential artistic leader, it is fitting that the Council recognises his significant contribution to Australian music with this award.” 

Image: Mike Nock
Credit: Andrew Finlayson



The Australia Council Don Banks Music Award will be presented on Saturday 1 February 2014 at the Seymour Centre, Sydney




This media release can also be viewed in an emdedded frame below (we recommend using the 'view in fullscreen' viewing option), on the Australia Council's Scribd account or downloaded as a PDF (129 KB) or a DOC (69 KB).



BACKGROUND - Australia Council Don Banks Music Award

The Don Banks Music Award is one of the top annual awards offered by the Australia Council for the Arts in recognition of Australian artists whose work represents outstanding achievement in their respective fields.

The $60,000 Award was established in honour of Don Banks, Australian composer, performer, and the first Chair of the Music Board. Initially established to recognise Australian composers, nominations are now invited for music artists, including performers, from all areas of music.

The award is intended for artists over the age of 50, and is granted only once in an artist’s lifetime. Nominations are accepted from individuals and arts organisations. Artists may not nominate themselves; nominations must come from a third party.

Past winners of the Australia Council Don Banks Music Award include:

Richard Mills (1996)
Richard Meale (1997)
Bernie McGann (1998)
Brenton Broadstock (1999)
Bunna Lawrie (2000)
Allan Browne (2001)
Lyndall Hendrickson (2002)
John Curro AM MBE (2003)
Jan Sedivka (2004)
Carl Vine (2005)
Richard Gill OAM (2006)
Peter Sculthorpe OBE (2007)
Bob Sedergreen AM (2008)
Dr Tony Gould (2009)
Warren Fahey AM (2010)
Belinda Webster OAM (2011)
Jon Rose (2012)
Kev Carmody (2013)

Tagged: Music, Market development, Funding, Media release, Announcement, Artform news

Share on Facebook