Award Recipients 2020

Red Ochre Award: Alison Milyika Carroll

Alison Milyika Carroll is a senior Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara woman. She is an accomplished artist and a significant cultural leader. Alison’s artistic practice, spanning batik, ceramics and painting, is highly respected. Her artwork communicates both Walka (design) and Tjukurpa (Law, Story and Dreaming). Alison takes both old and new styles, melding them together to make her own unique visual language.

Red Ochre Award: Djon Mundine OAM 

Djon Mundine is a Bandjalung man. He is a foundational figure in Australian art. He is an intellectual, an activist, and a cultural leader. He is a fierce advocate and a driving force, consistently contributing to the development and exhibition of contemporary Aboriginal art in Australia, and internationally. Djon was art and craft adviser at Milingimbi in 1979, and curator at Bula-Bula Arts in Ramingining in Arnhem Land Aboriginal communities for sixteen years. 

The Dreaming Award: Thea Anamara Perkins 

Thea Anamara Perkins is an Arrernte and Kalkadoon woman.Raised and based in Sydney, she has family ties to the Redfern community and engages with the area through her painting and installation practice. In 2018 she was a lead artist participating in the restoration of the iconic 40,000 Years mural in Redfern. She has held solo exhibitions at FirstDraft gallery and Our Neon Foe, as well as exhibiting at TARNANTHI.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Arts Fellow: Maree Clarke

Maree Clarke is a Yorta Yorta/Wamba Wamba/Mutti Mutti/Boonwurrung woman. She is an independent multi-disciplinary artist and curator, with a 30 year history of working in the contemporary and cultural First Nations arts sector. Maree is a leading possum skin artist, also working with kangaroo teeth, echidna quills, glass, photography and more.

Exit off canvas