Awards Categories

The Dreaming Award

The Dreaming Award was established in 2012 to support an inspirational young artist aged 18-26 years to create a major body of work through mentoring and partnerships. The mentor/partner will be another established professional artist or arts institution nominated by the artist.

Past award recipients include: Thomas E.S. Kelly (2018), Teila Watson (2017), Corey ‘Nooky’ Webster (2016), Kahl Wallis (2015), Tyrone Sheather (2014), Rhonda Unrupa Dick (2013), Nakkiah Lui (2012)

The Red Ochre Award

The prestigious Red Ochre Award was established by the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Arts Board in 1993 to pay tribute to a senior male and a senior female Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander person for their outstanding lifetime achievement in the arts and their contribution to the recognition of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander arts, both nationally and internationally.

Past award recipients include: Mrs Waal-Waal Ngallametta (2018), Mr John Mawurndjul AM (2018), Dr Ken Thaiday Senior (2017), Lynette Narkle (2017),  Yvonne Koolmatrie (2016), Dr Gary Foley (2015), Hector Burton (deceased) (2014), David Gulpilil OAM (2013), Warren H. Williams (2012), Archie Roach (2011), Michael Leslie (2010), Gawirrin Gumana AO (deceased) (2009), Doris Pilkington Garimara AM (deceased) (2008), Tom E. Lewis (2006), Seaman Dan (2005), John Bulunbulun (deceased) (2004), Jimmy Little (deceased) (2003), Dorothy Peters (2002), Banduk Marika (2001), Mervyn Bishop (2000), Justine Saunders OAM (deceased) (1999), Bob Maza AM (deceased) (1998), Jimmy Chi (deceased) (1997), Maureen Watson (deceased) (1996), Rita Mills (deceased) (1995), Mick Namarari Tjapaltjarri (deceased) (1994), Eva Johnson (1993)


Australia Council Fellowships are offered once a year and peer assessed by a panel of experts from within the relevant art form. The Fellowships, each worth $80,000 support creative activity and career development for mid-career and established artists for up to two years.

Past award recipients include: Hetti Perkins (2018), Lisa Maza (2017), Ms Vicki Couzens (2016), Brenda L Croft (2015), Reko Rennie (2015)

Australia Council Awards

The Australia Council Awards acknowledge the contribution that Australian artists have made to the arts and cultural life of the nation. These prestigious national awards recognise outstanding and sustained contributions by Australian artists in music, literature, community arts and cultural development (CACD), emerging and experimental arts, visual arts, theatre, and dance. 

Exit off canvas