Dal Stivens Award

Applications are now closed.

The Dal Stivens Award is presented biennially to an author aged 30 or under, for a short story or essay of the highest literary merit. The story or essay must be:

·  between 3,000 and 10,000 words

·  published or accepted for publication within the 12 months prior to the Award closing date.

Self-published works will be accepted for this Award, but must be edited to a professional standard.

The Dal Stivens Award was established in the will of Juanita Cragen in 2007. Dal Stivens (1911-1997) was an Australian writer and founding President of the Australian Society of Authors in 1963. His written works include eight collections of short stories, from The Tramp and Other Stories (1936) to The Unicorn and Other Tales (1976).

Key dates

Closing date: Thursday, 31 January 2019 11:59PM AEDT (or earlier if entry limit is met)

Applicants will be notified of the outcome by Tuesday 30 April 2019.

Please note: Perpetual will only accept a limited number of entries annually. Once this limit is met, no further entries can be submitted.

Who can apply

To apply for this Award you must:

·  be aged 30 years or under at the closing date

·  be either Australian citizens, or have been permanent residents in the two years preceding the closing date.

These are the terms established by deed of the Dal Stivens Award and there are no exceptions to these requirements. To be eligible for this Award you must provide proof of your Australian citizenship or permanent residency (e.g. passport, permanent residency visa). If you will have difficulty providing this, please contact a grants officer to discuss your situation.

Please note you must self-nominate for this Award.

Who can’t apply

You can’t apply for the Award if:

·  you do not hold copyright for the work you wish to submit for consideration;

·  you received a grant, or administered a grant, from the Australia Council in the past and that grant has not been satisfactorily acquitted;

·  you owe money to the Australia Council.

The Award’s value

The recipient of the Dal Stivens Award will receive $15,000.


Your proposal will be assessed by Australia Council staff. We may seek industry advice on your proposal before making our recommendation to Perpetual, who will make the final decision.

The decision of Perpetual is final and no feedback on entries or further correspondence on decisions will be provided.

Entries for the Award

Entries for the Award are submitted through our online system. If you are using the system for the first time you will need to register your details to access the entry form.

For the Dal Stivens Award you may submit up to two entries.

We do not accept entries submitted via post. Any material received by post will not be assessed and will be returned to the sender. If you think you will have difficulty submitting your entry online, please contact the grants team.

About Dal Stivens

Dal Stiven’s contribution to Australian literature was huge. He published his first novel, Jimmy Brockett, in 1948. As a freelance writer, his short stories were regularly published in Lilliput, The Times Literary Supplement, The Observer and John O’London’s Weekly. In 1969, Stivens was described in The Australian Book Review as “in the front ranks of Australia’s short story writers”. He won the Miles Franklin Award in 1970 for best Australian novel with A Horse of Air  and in 1981 he won the Patrick White Award for his contribution to Australian Literature. He  was honoured with a Special Achievement Award in the NSW Premier’s Literary Awards in 1994. Dal also wrote under the pseudonyms Jack Tarrant, John Sidney, Sam Johnson and L’Arva Street. Stivens was the Foundation President of the Australian Society of Authors and was instrumental in establishing the rights of Australian authors within the commercial sphere.

Support material

Your submission must include your short story or essay in its entirety. You can submit your support material via a URL (web link). The URLs should be direct links to a PDF of your short story or essay.

Your support material should also demonstrate your short story or essay has been published, or been accepted for publication, within the 12 months prior to the Award closing date. This could include a letter from the publisher.

To be eligible for the Dal Stivens Award, you must provide proof of Australian citizenship or permanent residency. To do this please include proof in your support material; this may include a copy of your passport or permanent residency visa.

To find out more about support material, including advice on how to get examples of your work online, click here.

Our preferred method of receiving support material is via URLs. However, if you cannot supply artistic support material via a URL, we will accept written artistic support material uploaded as a PDF with your application

Our co-investment strategy builds on the Council’s trusted brand, our relationships and our wealth of experience which underpins innovative approaches to arts investment.

Learn more about Co-investment

Exit off canvas