Kathleen Mitchell Award

Applications are now closed.

The Kathleen Mitchell Award is presented biennially to the author, aged 30 or under, of an outstanding novel or novella to encourage advancement in their literary career. The novel or novella must have been published or accepted for publication within the 2 years prior to the Award closing date. This can be demonstrated by the providing an ISBN or letter of confirmation from the publisher as part of your entry.

Established in 1996 by the will of the late Kathleen Adele Mitchell, the Award aims to encourage the advancement, improvement and betterment of Australian literature, and to provide emerging writers with funding to further their practice.

Key Dates

Closing date: Thursday 31 January 2019 (MIDNIGHT AEDT or earlier if entry limit is met)

Applicants will be notified of the outcome by Tuesday 30 April 2019.

Please note: Perpetual will only accept a limited number of entries annually. Once this limit is met, no further entries can be submitted.

Who can apply

To apply for this Award you must:

·  be aged 30 years or under at the closing date

·  have been born in Australia or the United Kingdom, or are currently Australian citizens

·  have been living in Australia for the 12 months preceding the closing date.

These are the terms established by deed of the Kathleen Mitchell Award and there are no exceptions to these requirements. To be eligible for this Award you must provide proof of your Australian citizenship or of your place of birth (e.g. birth certificate, passport). If you will have difficulty providing this, please contact a grants officer to discuss your situation.

Please note you must self-nominate for this Award.

Who can’t apply

You can’t apply for the Award if:

·  you do not hold copyright for the work you wish to submit for consideration

·  you received a grant, or administered a grant, from the Australia Council in the past and that grant has not been satisfactorily acquitted

·  you owe money to the Australia Council.

The award's value

The award is worth $15,000.


Your entry will be reviewed by industry advisors, including the current librarian of the Mitchell Library, State Library of NSW. The recommended recipient will be forwarded to Perpetual, who will make the final decision.

The decision of Perpetual is final and no feedback on entries or further correspondence on decisions will be provided.

Entries for the Award

Entries for the Award are submitted through our online system. If you are using the system for the first time you will need to register your details to access the entry form.

For the Kathleen Mitchell Award you may submit one entry only.

We do not accept entries submitted via post. Any material received by post will not be assessed and will be returned to the sender. If you think you will have difficulty submitting your entry online, please contact the grants team.

Kathleen Mitchell Recipients

1996 Sonya Hartnett, Sleeping Dogs- (Inaugural award)

1998 James Bradley, Wrack

2000 Julia Leigh, The Hunter

2002 no award

2004 Lucy Lehmann, The Showgirl and the Brumby (Random House Australia).

2006 Markus Zusak, The Book Thief (Picador)

2008 Randa Abdel-Fattah, Ten things i hate about me (Pan Macmillan Australia)

2010 Nam Le ,The Boat, (Penguin Australia).

2012 Melanie Joosten, Berlin Syndrome

2014 Majok Tulba, Beneath the Darkening Sky (Hamish Hamilton).

2016 no award

Support material

Your submission must include your novel or novella in its entirety. You can submit your support material via a URL (web link). The URLs should be direct links to a PDF of your novel or novella.

In your support material you should also include the ISBN for your novel or novella, OR a letter from the publisher confirming publication. This should demonstrate your novel or novella was published or accepted for publishing within the 2 years prior to the Award closing date.

To be eligible for the Kathleen Mitchell Award, you must provide proof of Australian citizenship, or that you were born in Australia or the United Kingdom. To do this please include proof in your support material; this may include a copy of your passport, birth certificate or citizenship certificate in your support material.

To find out more about support material, including advice on how to get examples of your work online, click here.

Our preferred method of receiving support material is via URLs. However, if you cannot supply artistic support material via a URL, we will accept written artistic support material uploaded as a PDF with your application.

Our co-investment strategy builds on the Council’s trusted brand, our relationships and our wealth of experience which underpins innovative approaches to arts investment.

Learn more about Co-investment

Exit off canvas