Darren Rudd, Australia Council Board

21 September 2020

Darren Rudd is CEO of AFTA, the peak body for Australia’s travel agents. He joined AFTA from the multinational information services business Tata Consultancy Services where he served as Head of Corporate Affairs in Australia and New Zealand for four years.

Mario D’Orazio

Mario D’Orazio, Australia Council Board

30 April 2019

Mario D’Orazio has wide experience in media, technology and the arts. He was managing director of Channel 7 Perth for seven years until his retirement in 2019. He was Chair of WA’s contemporary dance company, Co3, and a director of WA Opera, stepping down from both roles to join the Australia Council board.

Adrian Collette

Adrian Collette AM, CEO

11 January 2019

Mr Collette (NSW) held the position of Chief Executive of Opera Australia, Australia’s largest performing arts company for 16 years. He also worked in book publishing for a decade, including as Managing Director, Reed Books, a Division of Reed Elsevier. His previous role of Vice-Principal (Engagement) at the University of Melbourne included the oversight of the University’s museums and galleries and its many arts sector partnerships. He served on the Australia Council Board since 1 July 2013.

Sophie Mitchell (QLD)

Sophie Mitchell, Australia Council Board

17 October 2018

Ms Mitchell is the Director of Morgans, Silver Chef Limited, Flagship Investments Limited, MTQ Insurance Limited. She is also a Member of the Australian Government Takeovers Panel.

Khoa Do (Vic)

Khoa Do, Australia Council Board

17 October 2018

Mr Do (Vic) is a film director, producer and screenwriter. Mr Do has been nominated for AFI Awards and shortlisted for an Academy Award, is an international keynote speaker, and a community and youth worker and leader. Mr Do was Young Australian of the Year in 2005. In 2014 he won the Australian Director’s Guild Award for Best Direction in a TV Mini Series. Mr Do has recently been appointed to the Audit and Finance Committee of the Board.

Lee-Ann Tjunypa Buckskin (SA)

Lee-Ann Tjunypa Buckskin, Deputy Chair, Australia Council Board

17 October 2018

Miss Buckskin is the Aboriginal Strategy Executive Consultant at the South Australian Film Commission, member of the National Museum of Australia's Indigenous Advisory Committee. Miss Buckskin is Co-Chair of Tarnanthi Festival of Contemporary Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Visual Arts, Adelaide and Juror of Contemporary Adelaide Design Competition. Miss Buckskin is a Narungga, Wirangu, Wotjobaluk woman.

Rebecca Weisser, Australia Council Board

Rebecca Weisser, Australia Council Board

16 September 2018

Rebecca Weisser is a journalist, editor and public policy and communications consultant. She has a First Class Honours degree in Arts from Australian National University. She joined the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade in 1990 as a career diplomat and had postings to Vanuatu and Mexico.

Christine Simpson Stokes AM

Christine Simpson Stokes AM, Australia Council Board

02 March 2018

Mrs Simpson Stokes AM is a Trustee of Western Australia’s Children’s Charity Telethon, Patron of the Young Indigenous Women’s leadership program ‘Kimberley Girl’, and a member of the Advisory Council of the Jackman Furness Foundation for the Performing Arts. Mrs Simpson Stokes has extensive experience in business management and media, and is a philanthropist and supporter of the arts.

Zoe McKenzie

Zoe McKenzie, Australia Council Board

19 January 2018

Ms McKenzie brings valuable experience in governance, international engagement, government relations and the arts and cultural sector. She is an adviser to the small to medium arts sector and a member of the University of Melbourne Humanities Foundation Board and the French Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry Advisory Board. She has held senior roles in administration for KPMG and as a policy adviser to governments.

Leigh Carmichael (Tas)

Leigh Carmichael, Australia Council Board

19 January 2018

Mr Carmichael is Creative Director of Mona’s Dark Mofo festival. He has worked as part of the leadership and development team at the Museum of Old and New Art for the past 14 years. He is an advocate for increased participation in the arts and cultural activity and is passionate about new work, creative risk and its power to transform individuals and communities.

Exit off canvas