Australia Council Awards recipients announced for 2018

    05 March 2018

    The Australia Council is pleased to announce this year’s recipients of the prestigious Australia Council awards, which recognise and celebrate the significant contributions of leading artists to the artistic and cultural vibrancy of the nation. 

    Nominated by industry peers, the eight recipients of the national awards demonstrate an extraordinary range of outstanding and sustained achievement across music, literature, community arts and cultural development, emerging and experimental arts, visual arts, theatre, and dance. They join an impressive and diverse group of individuals who have received these awards in previous years. 

    The recipients will be honoured during a special ceremony at Carriageworks, Sydney on Tuesday. Australia Council CEO Tony Grybowski said it was an opportunity to reflect on the important role artists play in capturing the nation’s imagination.

    “These national awards are a critical way for the Australia Council to recognise the remarkable achievements of individual Australian artists, as well as highlighting the broader contribution of all our artists to enhancing the lives of Australians. The recipients of the 2018 awards are leaders in their respective fields. They have individually and collectively made highly significant contributions to the development of artistic practice and to challenging existing ways of exploring how we express identity and how we connect with one another. Almost all Australians engage with the arts multiple times on a daily basis. The Arts play a central role in wellbeing, in building more creative and cohesive communities, and are a complex and layered reflection of our nation. With that in mind it is essential that we celebrate and support the rich and diverse artistic talent we are fortunate to have,” he said.

    The recipients of Australia Council Awards for 2018:

    Bruce Pascoe (VIC) - Australia Council Award for Lifetime Achievement in Literature 

    Liza Lim (VIC) - Australia Council Don Banks Music Award

    Pat Brassington (TAS) - Australia Council Award for Visual Arts

    Nigel Helyer (NSW) - Australia Council Award for Emerging & Experimental Arts 

    Phillip Adams (VIC) - Australia Council Award for Dance 

    Liz Jones AO (VIC) - Australia Council Award for Theatre 

    Christian (Bong) Ramilo (NT) – Australia Council Ros Bower Award for Community Arts and Cultural Development

    Edwin Kemp Attrill (SA) - Australia Council Kirk Robson Award for Community Arts and Cultural Development

    More details on the recipients are available here . 

    Media enquiries:

    Brianna Roberts, Media Manager, Australia Council for the Arts

    Phone: (02) 9215 9030  


    Download Accessible Version

    Exit off canvas